Writing Literacy

My nightly routine looked a lot like this (but with more coffee).

My nightly routine looked a lot like this (but with more coffee).

Learning Outcome:

Writing literacy for chosen audiences, including the ability to draft and format an essay in an appropriate citation style.


Examples:

1. COMM 613 Book Review

2. COMM 655 Book Review

3. Inquiry Project Proposal


My Experience:

During my time at Queens University of Charlotte, I did a great deal of writing. Between weekly blog posts, annotated bibliographies, literature reviews, and research papers, I was able to hone my writing skills and become familiar with the APA writing style. At the beginning of the course, I found writing to be much more of a challenge than I do now. I stumbled over in-text citations and found it hard to turn an idea into a full length paper. Now, my experience has made the process much easier. I can now string my thoughts together to form eloquent sentences, and citations are no longer as frightening. 

The weekly class discussions that I have been a part of have also helped me engage with my classmates through written content. Unlike a face-to-face conversation, online discussions are much more formal. The posts are similar to a formal paper, requiring in-text citations and references. This requires additional thought as I organized my thoughts into a 2-3 paragraph post. This absolutely strengthened my writing skills. I am now more capable of turning my ideas into written content, which is something that will carry over into my career.

Working for a news station, it will be my job to constantly write stories for the station’s website. The station’s credibility relies on my story being accurate and grammatically correct, which is a lot of pressure! However, I can now confidently say that I am prepared to create compelling and well-written stories for the public to read. My position also requires me to post creative and engaging content on the station’s social media platforms. Through my technology-focused courses, such as Creativity and Networking and Organizational Identity and Brand, I have gained a better understanding of how social media can help or hinder a company, depending on how it is utilized. My classes have taught me how to effectively use social media to brand a company, maintain a positive reputation, and connect with an online audience.

 

Leave a Reply

